budgeting

A Long time ago my mom gave me a spreadsheet to use for budgeting all my expenses.  At first I didn’t like it but now I live by it.  If I didn’t have the spreadsheet I would be so far behind.  I am behind with it as well but I know what I need to do in order to catch up.  It breaks things down based on how much money we bring home each week and then takes that amount and starts subtracting as I add bills in.  This is both a good and bad thing.  Good because I don’t have to do the math but bad because I see that final number at the end and think to myself “how am I going to life off of that this week?”

So due to mom’s passing we are being blessed with extra money.  I was adding up all the debt that myself and hubby have accumulated over the past several years and I about died… almost $40,000!!!!! WOW! Now that does include student loans but still, that number is outrageous. So, we are taking the money from mom and paying everything off!  What a good feeling that will be.  Then we can go on a vacation, do things to our house, etc and hopefully start to get back to a better place and not feel so pinched.  Now, I just need to get through the next 4 months and then we will be seeing a little financial freedom (until tax time)!

So, thank you mom for the spreadsheet.  I know you are looking down from above and helping to guide me in the right direction in life.  I love you and miss you greatly!

Leave a Reply

