Another Year Comes to a Close

The holidays are slowly coming to an end.  In some ways I’m glad and at times I wish they would continue.  There is something about the holidays that bring out the best in some people.  The time to enjoy with family and friends is special and means something more than just a random get together during the year.

To sum up my holidays –

Christmas Eve the hubby and I got up early and went to our favorite bakery to buy the dessert for Christmas day.  We then went to the grocery store to buy the stuff for the breakfast casserole to take to my sisters.  Once home I made the casserole (which was super easy) and then we rested until it was time to go.  We arrived at the hubby’s aunt and uncles house around 6:30 to enjoy a delicious Italian meal and spend time with our special guests of the night.  The hubby’s cousin invited three of his friends over to celebrate that are from Turkey.  It was nice to have others share in our family traditions.  The night came to an end and we headed home knowing we had an early morning coming up.

I did receive a special gift on Christmas Eve.  When checking the mail I had an envelope addressed to me with no return address.  When I opened it I saw a poem titled “My First Christmas in Heaven”.  I immediately started crying but I knew whoever sent this to me was someone special and someone who really cared and also knew how important my mom was to me. I know now who sent it and even though she says it wasn’t her that it was my mom I want her to know how special that was to me.

Christmas – woke up at 8 to head to my sisters in Indiana. When we got there her house looked like it had exploded!  I guess that is what you get when you have triplets who understand what Christmas is all about!  We exchanged gifts and then ate brunch.  After brunch the boys went to play the new video game and my sister and I called the family.  We left around 2pm to make the trip to my in-laws house.

Thank goodness the weather wasn’t too bad for driving.  We made it to the in-laws in a little over an hour! We arrived at hubby’s parents house and exchanged gifts between all of us.  Baby Alexa stocked up on a lot of cute clothes!  The best gift though would be the family picture that we will take when we go on our family vacation in August.  Even though the hubby is not a fan of picture-taking it will be a great gift! 

Our cat got his dad a gift!  Little did he know it was all planned out by me!  He thought it was his parents that got him a new jersey so I was glad that we pulled off the surprise!

Hubby’s grandma is not doing so well health wise and feels that she has nothing to live for.  She made it very difficult to be around her with her constant complaining.  We were all making efforts to make her day better but nothing was seeming to work.  Her poor boyfriend is an angel to be able to put up with her.  I hope she has many more years with us but she needs to take care of herself and get in a nursing home and off a bunch of her medications.

Saturday –  we slept in a bit but woke up and went to breakfast at First Watch.  After breakfast we ran some errands (bought a new heater/humidifier/air cleaner!). We decided to go see a movie in the afternoon and hoped to go see Avatar but when we got there it was already sold out so we decided to see The Blind Side.  GREAT movie!  After the movie we headed home, ordered pizza and relaxed for the remainder of the night.  Around midnight we decided to head to the grocery store.  I love going grocery shopping in the middle of the night! There was no one there and so easy to move around.  We had planned out our meals for the next day so that we could truly enjoy a day at home! Got home and finally around 2:30 in the morning went to bed.

Sunday – woke up at 11am! (I love sleeping in). The hubby had been up for a while and was in the process of making muffins! They smelled delicious! Once I finally made it downstairs we had left over breakfast casserole and a muffin.  We watched a movie until the Bengals game came on.  Thank goodness the Bengals won! 

For Christmas in my stocking I received a Pizza cookbook so we decided to try one of the recipes for dinner.  Since we had ordered pizza the night before I was wanting to make one of the bread recipes.  We made a sun-dried tomato foccacia bread that was DELICIOUS! We had that and some tomato soup.  Perfect meal for a cold snowy day inside.

Monday – back to work we go… boo!

This week will be just as busy as the last but the busier I am the faster the week goes and the quicker my Jamaican vacation comes!

Wednesday – work out (December weigh in {this could be scary})

Thursday – New Year’s Eve at the Herron’s (always a good time!)

Friday – step mom in town

Saturday – more family time

Sunday – Trans-Siberian orchestra concert in Columbus

So here is to a busy week, a happy new year, and a great 2010!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jesyisms
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 15:08:59

    I’m so happy you guys rang in 2010 with us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

