No Phone Zone

While I am a fan of Oprah I am frustrated, disappointed, etc. with the fact that so many people have come on board with this whole idea of no texting and driving because they saw a show on Oprah several months ago.  I agree that the show was impactful and I’m glad that she did it.  I just wish that someone had done it YEARS ago.  We all need to be held accountable for our actions and make the right decision.  Texting and driving is distracting.  You cannot be looking at your phone and the road at the same time.  Life is too important to chance it.

One of my best friends is behind this cause 100% and I applaud her for getting on her friends and family and having them get on board with the program. Check out her blog about the whole thing.

Also, one of my favorite blogs that I read also wrote about the No Phone Zone Pledge.  The last statement she made is one that we should all read over and over and then follow through with what we read:

But you don’t need Oprah.  You don’t need me.  Make the decision for yourself and for your loved ones.  Do us all a favor and put the cell phones away when you’re driving.

 Now everyone please be responsible adults and do NOT text and drive! 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marla
    May 01, 2010 @ 13:58:14

    Reply

  2. Jane
    May 01, 2010 @ 14:27:48

    So funny. My thought while reading your post was Amen! also. I am more than a bit annoyed Oprah is credited with with the idea of putting the phone away while driving. It’s common sense, people. Think for yourselves!

    Reply

  3. Mindee@ourfrontdoor
    May 01, 2010 @ 17:23:42

    Yep, it’s not a good idea. ESPECIALY when you have kids in the car. Not only is it unsafe, but they watch everything you do and some day they will be driving too!

    Reply

  4. thelumberjackswife
    May 02, 2010 @ 09:33:57

    Agreed. Driving while texting is not safe at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

