Amazing Night!

Last night was one of the best nights I’ve had in a long time.  My sister-in-law received tickets to Phantom of the Opera and her husband couldn’t go so she asked me to go with her! YAY! I was so excited!  I had seen Phantom before but I was probably about 10 and most likely didn’t appreciate it as much as I would now.  Thursday finally arrived and my work day went slow with anticipation building.  4 o’clock rolled around and I was out the door!  I had to drive about 45 minutes north to Dayton to meet up with my Andrea.  Due to lovely traffic it took me about an hour to get there.  I got in my small amount of hugs and smiles from my niece and off we went.

We decided to go to Thai 9 for dinner.  Andrea had heard great things about this place and we both like Thai food.  The restaurant was very nice minus one thing.  The waiter informed us that there is a heat scale of 1-9 with a 4 being medium.  Now, I love spicy food, so to me a 4 shouldn’t be that bad. WRONG! A 4 seemed more like a 8 to me! It was so hot.  After only one bit my eyes started watering, the nose started running, and the sweat started dripping.  I probably ate about 2 pounds servings of rice to help with the heat.  The table next to us asked if we were alright because we couldn’t stop laughing!  If I ever go back I will be asking for a zero and it will probably be hot enough!

After dinner we drove over to the theatre.  Our tickets said we were in row FF.  My thought process said we would be a little more than half way back.  Again, I was wrong!  We were in the second row!!!! And center no less!  I have never sat this close to the front before.  To be able to see the facial expressions and see the detail of the costumes.  The best part was the chandelier.  When it drops onto the stage it came down probably 5 feet above our heads before swinging onto the stage!  It was so cool!

It was an amazing night with an amazing friend who just happens to also be my sister-in-law!  Next season The Lion King will be coming and I hope I can get fabulous tickets for that too!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan (Best of Fates)
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 10:23:46

    Envious! Phantom of the Opera and the Lion King are two shows on Broadway I’ve never seen! I always want to, but then always tell myself they’ll be still showing next time and not to waste my time and see shows that’ll be closing soon. Ah, if only they would come on tour to where I live, that’d be ideal!

    And as someone sensitive to spicy food, I probably would have eaten roughly 8 servings of rice if the dish was that intense!

    Reply

  2. Mindee@ourfrontdoor
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 12:58:12

    Wow! that sounds like so much fun – spicy food and all.

    Reply

  3. Sarah @ BecomingSarah.com
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 13:13:30

    I’m a bit jealous too, but I’m glad you had a good time! Sounds like fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

